Meet our Board of Directors

Judie Mortlock, Chair


Judie retired from the corporate world in 2003, having worked in executive administrative positions with Alcan, Bausch and Lomb, and BIC Canada. She and her husband Ed moved to Brighton in 2003, and Judie quickly became involved in community volunteerism, serving on the Board of the Codrington Community Association. She joined the Board of Directors of the Brighton Health Services Centre in 2006, serving as its Secretary until 2017. In May 2017, she was named the first Chair of the Brian Todd Memorial Community Fund. She also continues to work in a secretarial capacity with the Lakeview Family Health Team. Judie and her husband now reside in Carrying Place.

Lorie Boychuk, Vice Chair 


Lorie was born and raised in Peterborough. After serving in the Canadian Armed Forces and travelling extensively, she and her husband Wes settled in Brighton in 1997. She operated her candy store, Mrs. B’s Country Candy, from 1999 to 2022 before retiring. During that time, a successful entrepreneur, she served as a Director and as a President of the Brighton-Cramahe Chamber of Commerce.

She has given her time as a Director and President of the Brighton DBIA and has been a long time member of the Brighton-Cramahe Chamber of Commerce.

Bruce Davis, Secretary-Treasurer


A former commissioned officer in the Canadian Armed Forces, Bruce has held several accounting and general management positions in the private and public sector. A resident of Brighton since 1998, he served as Treasurer on the Board of Directors of the Brighton Health Services Centre from 2003 to 2017. He is a former Chief Administrative Officer for the Municipality of Brighton, and has been active in community initiatives, including physician recruitment, and Treasurer of the Codrington Community Association.

Pamela Vanderburg, Director


Pamela has lived in Brighton since 1993. A teacher at ENSS, specializing in Native Studies and Sociology, she retired in 2018. She, along with her Grade 12 students, introduced the annual Relay for Life event to Brighton in 2008, and she has offered her time and talents to several community organizations, including the Applefest Committee, food and clothing drives, and the Syrian Refugee Committee for Education. Pamela is particularly passionate about raising Aboriginal awareness, and initiated the annual ENSS Indigenous Celebration event.

Sherry Hamilton, Director

Born in Trenton Memorial Hospital, Sherry is an ENSS alumnus. After a brief period away, she and her husband returned to Brighton in 1985 to raise their family. Her early community involvement in the 1980s and 90s was centred around environmental issues. She founded the Brighton Environment Group and represented Brighton on the Northumberland County Waste Management Committee.

She was the Manager of the Brighton-Cramahe Chamber of Commerce from 2013 to 2021. In the municipal elections of 2022, she was elected as a Municipal Councillor for Cramahe Township.

Wayne Jefferson, Director


After 41 years of working in Finance for the General Electric Company, Wayne and his wife Joan moved to Brighton in 2006 for the “Good Life”. He has remained actively involved in the Brighton community, serving as Treasurer for the Downtown Business Improvement Association, as a Director for the Horticultural Society, and has provided assistance to other local not for profit organizations. He has also served on municipal committees, specifically Economic Development and the Rose Ellery Park Committee.

Nancy Wilson, Director

Nancy has lived in Brighton since 1992. She retired from teaching in 2023, having spent her entire teaching career at East Northumberland Secondary School. Her talents have supported such projects as the ENSS Peace Project (2017), an international letter writing campaign in honour of Remembrance Day and the ENSS Garden of Hope (2018), a memorial garden dedicated to all those in the community touched by cancer. The ENSS Garden of Hope was constructed at the school in 2020 with the help of a grant from the Brian Todd Memorial Community Fund. Nancy was invited by the BTMCF Board of Directors to join the Board in April, 2021.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close